Jump to content

Sheath balance not gained


Recommended Posts

One of those things are wrong. Either I should have gained sheath balance in image below or description for sheath balance is wrong.

 

nz7SMNF.png

 

At link "Balancing fights" to the right of the chat it says this. (PS link has typo because it's written baLLancing)

 

~~DEFEATED~~ (loss+1)
When the difference between the players is at least 90% and you lose, the lost fight gets counted with the win/loss balance.

 

Reality is that this doesn't always apply. In above example I was defender and Intrigue attacked me. She healed by 90% and I took 38% damage. That's difference of 128% and I should be getting sheath balance. Check full log here.

 

In new scenario I was attacker. Same thing, I took 100% damage, she healed by 73%. Difference is 173% and again only sheath. (why export logs don't have outcome percentages?) Screenshot of outcome percentages. In this fight there was no priests like in first, so priest strangeness is ruled out.

 

Another example. Image. This time difference is 136% and I do get sheath balance.

 

So can anybody tell me what's going on? Why sometimes it gives sheath balance and sometimes not if though the requirements for it are satisfied?

 

Link to post
Share on other sites

That's what I was thinking, that some things like angien self-damage, priest aura, ve token boost don't count. But example #2 doesn't have those, while example #3 does similarly like example #1 yet #3 gives sheath balance while #1 doesn't. That's why I posted :p But due note that in example #1 although she had only priests, nothing else did damage to me and she did got sword balance, so I'm unsure why would it count for wins and not for losses. *shrugs*

Link to post
Share on other sites

Consider yourself lucky that due to such behavior, the heat draining works.

And ... as for you not getting a lose ... either you are too lame / weak (128% difference) to give you a loss or you are not under the limit for a loss to be granted to you.

 

Either way, change this behavior and the process of losing heat will go to next age.

 

Oh, and this behavior was known since the combat rules changed and the priests took the main role in losing heat/exp.

Link to post
Share on other sites

What? I get this feeling that in every second of your posts, there is something you misunderstood or didn't read fully....

 

What about heat draining? We ain't talking about that in here.

 

And ... as for you not getting a lose ... either you are too lame / weak (128% difference) to give you a loss or you are not under the limit for a loss to be granted to you.

 

What do you mean by that? 128% difference should be enough for sheath balance. My win-loss is near balance, I'm not loss capped, I should be getting sheath balance yet I don't.

 

 

Either way, change this behavior and the process of losing heat will go to next age.

 

Oh, and this behavior was known since the combat rules changed and the priests took the main role in losing heat/exp.

 

Again, nobody is talking about changing anything in here, this is posted in questions forum, I'm looking for explanation why sheath balance wasn't gained. That is the only issue here, I don't see how heat losing is connected to me not gaining sheath balance. Can you clarify your post?

Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought you asked on why you didn't received the loss.

 

hmm, can you enlighten me on what do you think "sheath balance" is ? maybe I don't know what it means. (please indulge me)

 

Also, are you by any chance in an alliance ? and what is your win/loss ration (the actual values ) and your MP level ?

----

I cannot currently access MD.

Link to post
Share on other sites

hmm, can you enlighten me on what do you think "sheath balance" is ? maybe I don't know what it means. (please indulge me)

http://magicduel.com/pages/help.info.php?p=balancingfights

 

^ the ~DEFEATED~ part

 

Oh, and since No one cannot currently access MD to see it, I will quote the definition of sheath balance here:

 

~~DEFEATED~~ (loss+1)
When the difference between the players is at least 90% and you lose, the lost fight gets counted with the win/loss balance.

Edited by DARK DEMON
Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought you asked on why you didn't received the loss.

 

hmm, can you enlighten me on what do you think "sheath balance" is ? maybe I don't know what it means. (please indulge me)

 

Also, are you by any chance in an alliance ? and what is your win/loss ration (the actual values ) and your MP level ?

----

I cannot currently access MD.

 

I quoted in first post the ingame description of sheath balance, so did DD in posts above.

So if you understood that I was wondering about not receiving loss, I still don't understand what it has anything to do with heat losing you mentioned earlier?

 

I'm unallied MP5 and my current ratio is 2525 - 2615. At time of posting the original post I was somewhere near the balance, also unallied and also MP5

Link to post
Share on other sites

something similar happens with wins in some cases. If the defender has a single tree with 0% influence (which was quite popular a while back) and you attack with a single elemental you get victorious outcome instead of just win (meaning it gets counted in your ratio). The description for victorious says you need to lose 10% VE (and the difference in dealt damage has to be more than 30%) but wih elemental you gain VE not lose it.

Link to post
Share on other sites

something similar happens with wins in some cases. If the defender has a single tree with 0% influence (which was quite popular a while back) and you attack with a single elemental you get victorious outcome instead of just win (meaning it gets counted in your ratio). The description for victorious says you need to lose 10% VE (and the difference in dealt damage has to be more than 30%) but wih elemental you gain VE not lose it.

 

I confirm this still is the case

Link to post
Share on other sites

As with most combat related stuff, it's been a while since i last checked properly, so this might not hold true anymore:
 
This minus-% thing where you heal used to not work for balance calculation, and it might still not be fixed.
The system doesn't bother if the difference is in the positives or in the negatives. When you have a fight that ends 100 vs -73, it doesn't come to 173 for a difference, but to 27 for loss calculation, which obviously isn't enough. It's not an issue about healing preventing the loss, you can still get counts for both ends in a healing battle, like in this incident i just had:
 
49.8648005069% vs -24550.3875969%
Winner gets won fights counter incremented!
Loser gets humiliated, loss fights counter incremented!
 
What Rophs indicated and powle just said are an outflow of that. You can have a victory without ever losing 10%, as long as you 'lose' -10%, and you might not get a loss from a 'close fight' at 100% vs -100%, as both are 100% away from their starting point, it's 0 difference. Test based on that, it might still hold true.

Link to post
Share on other sites

No no no guys, when it comes to victories that 10% counts for heals to, meaning you need to either lose 10% or heal 10%, description is wrong. So it could also be that Sheath Balance description is wrong too, but in a way that it misses quite important information. Because up there in my examples 100% vs -36% ended up in sheath balance while 100% vs -78% resulted in only sheath. That means Sheath Balance doesn't have same problem as Sword Balance.

 

What you Burns say ofc seems true for some cases but still when you compare my example I just mentioned from my first post, it doesn't hold true. (you need to click links for logs and 2 additional images) example #2 and #3.

 

100% and -36% is 136% difference in amounts of damage each sides inflicted. That was properly given Sheath Balance. However outcome is written in same manner since in both cases I'm attacker. This second case is 100% and -78% making it 178% difference.

 

I'm not so convinced it's problem in coded formula. Either way you put it should end with proper difference being calculated if subtraction is used.

 

I'm still unsure if this is bug or not, hence no bug report yet. I'm still hoping that somebody comes in and tells me that I did bad math on priest aura or that I missed something else :))

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
  • Forum Statistics

    16,144
    Total Topics
    176,327
    Total Posts
  • Recently Browsing

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Upcoming Events

    No upcoming events found
  • Recent Event Reviews

×
×
  • Create New...